Posted in General Rants and Reviews, Tatak Bisdak, Tourist/Family Spots, Uncategorized

Boracay or Bora-NOT-kay?

Boracay. Breathtaking Boracay. Recently voted as one of the world’s top destinations Boracay continues to attract more tourists each year. And it’s not good – this time…

Bora not Okay
commercial boracay

My hubby fell in love with the island when he first set foot on it in the late 80’s. It was idyllic and beautiful. And he has made it a point to see the island every few years or so. The first time he brought me to the island was about 4 years ago. Back then, I was not as impressed. Yes, the sand was fine and white and the sunset beautiful… but even then it was a bit too commercial for my taste. Parties everywhere, cigarette butts sparsely scattered along the pristine shoreline, broken beer bottles here and there… It was difficult to fall in love with that Boracay. But as a dutiful wife, I go where the hub goes and so we were off again just couple of weeks back.

This time, I got to see more of the island.

Puka beach, I fell in love with.

naturally boraAnd this time, there were no more cigarette butts on the beachfront, no more broken bottles, but still a lot of partying. Which is fine I guess. As long as everyone respects nature enough to leave no footprint behind. The sunset was more beautiful this time around too..

NATURE'S PALETTE
palette perfect sunset

And when you fall in love, your heart gets broken, right? Break my heart it did… the shoreline was not as beautiful, parts of it were submerged, taken back by the sea.

still beautiful
Shoreline 2007, no riprapping on their fence.
Boracay shrinking shoreline
same shoreline, gone. 2011
Riprap replaces the shoreline
Riprapping done. Taken 2011

I really thought I was imagining things so I asked several locals and residents about it. Some said it was the habagat coming in, so the water is higher. But then again, the last time we visited was habagat season as well. Same month, a week’s difference. Some residents said the island was getting heavy with all the buildings being constructed. Hmmm… I say, global warming, melting polar ice caps...

boo
commercial development
fugly building...
big, bold and booooo

Oh well, I don’t know. It has been said that in the next few years seaside villages will disappear with the tide. I just hope the local government in Boracay will continue what it’s doing to keep the shoreline (they were doing geodetic surveys while we were there) and most importantly the idyllic beauty like what we saw at Puka beach.

Here’s my last photo.

the famous coco tree
a glimpse of bora

Well, I hope this post reaches many and many more will repost it. I know not everyone shares the love for the environment as I do. My husband calls me crazy and OA… I think I’m just more… aware 🙂 Haha. These are the last few days of summer and I’m sure most of you will be hitting the beach to bid summer goodbye… remember to leave no trace behind 🙂

Author:

adventurous mom of 3 equally adventurous kids and wife of an equally laid back city slicker...

Leave a Reply

